Leon Stevens, Author, interviews Leon Stevens, Reader

Leon Stevens
3 min readJul 14, 2020

--

I have done a few interviews on some book blogs in the last few months and have always enjoyed it. But then I thought, what would I say in an interview as a reader? Solution? Interview myself!

Today we sit down with Leon Stevens, the reader. We haven’t chatted for a while, how have you been?

-I’m doing well, thanks for asking!

Tea?

-Oh, yes please.

[clinking of fine china teacups]

Say when.

-When?

When you want me to stop pouring.

-Can’t you tell when it’s full?

[silence]

Well then, enough of the small talk. Let’s get started, shall we? First question:

What was the first book that you remember reading?

-Ever?

Yes.

-Wow, that’s a great question.

I thought it was.

-I guess if I try to remember all the way back, I’d have to say, The Very Hungry Caterpillar.

That’s the one with all the holes in the pages through the apples.

-Yup. I think that I got my finger stuck in one of them.

I think we all did.

[laughter]

Any others worth mentioning?

-I do recall reading Curious George, Pippi Longstocking, Hardy Boys, and I liked pop-up books. Oh, and the Highlights magazines.

Next Question: What was the first book that fascinated you?

-That’s an easy one, A Wrinkle in Time.

Why that one?

-My fifth-grade teacher read it to us. I looked forward to that time. He was a great reader, and I was sad when the book ended. It was a kind of a dark adventure for that age group.

Did you like reading?

-I didn’t dislike it, but I wasn’t a voracious reader.

Were you encouraged to read?

-I think so. My dad would read to me at bedtime. He would make space stories for me. I later found out, when I started reading science fiction on my own, that many of those stories were ones he had read before. I don’t fault him for it. It was funny reading a story and thinking, “Hey, Dad didn’t make that up!”

Do you have a favorite genre, or do you have a variety of interests?

- I usually read science fiction, and I prefer the older works over new. I do enjoy historical non-fiction, especially about explorers. I do enjoy some fantasy from time to time, as well as crime dramas.

What book have you re-read the most?

-I would have to say, Klondike by Pierre Burton, followed by Alive by Piers Paul Read, and The Chronicles of Narnia.

Favorite book?

-Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut.

Any newer books that I might know that you have enjoyed?

-Umm, you know the same books I do.

I suppose that’s true…Well?

-Ready Player One and The Martian would be the most recent. But again, you knew that.

Have you ever not finished a book?

-Yes.

Care to throw it under the bus?

-Nope. Not fair to the authors. Sometimes a book just doesn’t fit with the reader.

I understand. Well then, last question: What will you be reading next?

-I’m waiting for you to finish your science fiction book.

It’s getting there, don’t rush me.

-I’m just yankin’ your chain, I’ve liked what I have read so far.

Thanks. I appreciate that.

-I knew you would.

I knew that you knew that I would.

-I’m not playing that game.

[silence]

I guess we are done then. It has been a pleasure interviewing you.

-Well, thank you. It was fun! We should do this again.

Agreed!

[sounds of shaking hands (which doesn’t sound like anything…)]

--

--

Leon Stevens

Leon Stevens is a writer, composer, guitarist, songwriter, and an artist, with a Bachelor of Music and Education. www.linesbyleon.com