Weekend Wrap-up May 13: Perils of Multi-genre Writing

Leon Stevens
2 min readMay 13, 2023

--

This could be a very long post but I’ll make it short. It’s hard to be a multi-genre author because you have to divide your marketing efforts if you write under one name or many.

My mailing list started after I published my poetry book, as I set out to reach as many poetry aficionados as I could. As I was doing so, I started on my short story science fiction collection. The dilemma was to start a completely new mailing list under a new pen name, or market to my already growing list.

Did I want to have to craft and send out two different newsletters each time? Nope.

Readers read. Most readers read different genres, so I hoped my poetry fans would give my sci-fi writing a chance and my sci-fi readers would enjoy my poetry. I even wrote some post-apocalyptic poetry to bridge the gap.

I have more sci-fi books than poetry now, and I am sure I have lost subscribers along the way, but that is understandable. As I wrote in yesterday’s post, I just want to entertain and contribute to the promotion of other indie authors.

Now I just have to finish my short story romance collection …

In the meantime, here are my two genres:

On my blog this week:

Free Book Friday May 12: Writers are entertainers.
Weird Wednesday May 10th: Cartoons and Origin Stories
Tuesday Tirade: Writing
Music Monday May 8: Andy Shauf
Sunday: New Trailer

Leon Stevens is a multi-genre author, composer, guitarist, songwriter, and an artist, with a Bachelor of Music and Education. He published his first book of poetry, Lines by Leon: Poems, Prose, and Pictures in January 2020, followed by a book of original classical guitar compositions, Journeys, and a short story collection of science fiction/post-apocalyptic tales called The Knot at the End of the Rope and Other Short Stories. His newest publications are the novella trilogy, The View from Here, which is a continuation of one of his short stories, and a new collection of poetry titled, A Wonder of Words.

Originally published at http://linesbyleon.com on May 13, 2023.

--

--

Leon Stevens

Leon Stevens is a writer, composer, guitarist, songwriter, and an artist, with a Bachelor of Music and Education. www.linesbyleon.com